Deacon Nominations

Deacons are those men called out and set apart by the church through election and ordination to serve the needs of the church and its members in various assigned tasks relative to the care of the fellowship. Their ministry is to mainly focus on those areas that will release the pastoral ministers to devote themselves to prayer and the ministry of the Word (Acts 6:4).

Deacons are to be zealous to guard the unity of the church in the bonds of peace by providing counsel in the affairs of the church, aiding the pastor, and serving the membership. They shall devote themselves to the welfare of the members, and seek to encourage them to be more faithful servants of Christ.

Every deacon shall be of "good report" and meet the scriptural qualifications presented in Acts 6:1-8 and 1st Timothy 3:8-13. They shall be at least 21 years of age and a member of Abilene Baptist for at least one year. Abilene’s deacons serve a three-year term.

Please contact anyone whom you would nominate to ensure they are willing to accept the call of this position. Also, please do not nominate someone who is on the active deacons list below.

Active Deacons

  • Nick Alexander

  • Jeff Ballinger

  • Chandler Beggs

  • Will Collins

  • Jim Courson

  • Chris Golden

  • Michael Jones, Jr.

  • Bob Long

  • Dean Newman

  • Bill O’Leary

  • Kevin Parrish

  • David Perry

  • Jimmy Rogers

  • Austin Sapp

  • Donnie Youmans

3917 Washington Rd, Martinez, GA 30907 | © Copyright 2018 Abilene Baptist Church. All rights reserved. | Made by Speak.